Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in Los Angeles
Sex Offender Registration Violations in Los Angeles County
A conviction for a sex crime may have the requirement to register as a sex offender. This requirement continues for 10 years, 20 years, or a lifetime, based on the type of sex crime conviction. The registration requirements are outlined under California Penal Code 290.
Sex Crime Registration Requirements
The sex offender registration requirements include:
- After a Conviction and Release
You must, in person, register your address with local law enforcement within five working days of being released from incarceration, being sentenced, or being discharged from medical care or a mental health facility.
- Yearly Registration Requirements
When you return to the community, you must act immediately to register your address. Your compliance with this requirement will be monitored. Each year, within five working days of your birthday, you are required to re-register.
- If You Move
If you move, you must register your new address within five days, whether in another city or state. If you are a student or worker temporarily in California, or working in the state, you must register with local law enforcement.
- Student and College Employees – Additional Requirements
Students who are convicted of a sec offense have the additional requirement to report to campus police.
- Requirements for “Sexually Violent Predators”
Some sex crime offenders are designated as “sexually violent predators.” In these cases, the offender is required to update registration every 90 days.
Failure to Register Penalties
The penalties imposed for a failure to register can be filed as a misdemeanor or felony, based on whether the sex crime was a misdemeanor or felony, or if the accused had a prior failure to register conviction. A felony conviction can lead to up to three years incarceration in state prison. A misdemeanor conviction may lead to up to one year in jail and fines up to $1,000.
The California Sex Offender Registration System: 3 Levels
The sex offender registration requirements were changed by state legislators in January of 2021. The state has implemented a three level registration requirement system to replace the earlier system, which required lifetime registration for all convicted sex offenders. The three levels are as follows:
- 10 year sex offender registration requirement: The 10 year requirement is imposed on lower level sex offenses.
- 20 year sex offender registration requirement: The 20 year requirement to register as a sex offender is imposed on those convicted of mid-level sex crimes, and sex crimes involving minor under 14.
- Lifetime sex offender registration: Those convicted of serious sex crimes, such as rape, sex trafficking of children, and sex crimes involving young children, and on people who have been convicted of repeated sex offenses are required to register every year for life.
The Consequences of Sex Offender Registration
While a sex crime conviction often comes with prison time, mandatory treatments and other penalties, one of the most devastating consequences is registering as a sex offender. Your picture, current address, and the crime for which you have been convicted are all easily accessed by any person with a digital device. The stigma attached to these offenses can make finding a home or getting employed challenging. However, a failure to register can lead to legal consequences, and it is imperative that you keep your registration current. If you are accused of failing to register, get an attorney. With the right legal actions, you may be able to avoid this added conviction on your criminal record.
Why Choose Werksman Jackson & Quinn LLP?
If you are accused of a failure to register, you need to act immediately. At our firm, your defense will be in the hands of an entire legal team, rather than a single attorney. We have garnered a reputation for legal excellence and are proud of our many successes in criminal court in challenging cases. Every case is unique in facts and circumstances, and we collaborate closely with our clients to fight to reduce the damage, and the risk of a conviction.
For a free initial case consultation regarding failure to register charges, call Werksman Jackson & Quinn LLP at (213) 688-0460.
Contact Werksman Jackson & Quinn LLP Today
Phone: (213) 688-0460
Fax: (213) 624-1942
Recent Case Results
- Complete Dismissal of Molestation Charges
Attorney Mark Werksman’s 29 year old client was falsely accused of molesting two neighborhood children and was subsequently charged with felony child molestation, with a significant prison sentence hanging over his head should he be convicted. Instead, at the preliminary hearing Werksman was able to convince the court to grant his client a complete dismissal of any charges.
- Decision Set Aside
Client, a college student in a faulty Title IX case, was awarded $130,000 in attorney fees.
- Probation with No Jail Time for Drug Money Laundering Charge
Wilmington man accused in New York federal court of laundering drug money through the sale of laptop computers. Mark was able to get the case transferred to federal court in Los Angeles, where he convinced the United States Attorney to reduce the charges. His client was sentenced to probation with no jail time on a misdemeanor conviction.