Home DUI

Los Angeles Drunk Driving Defense Attorneys



Charged with DUI? Call a Top Criminal Defense Team

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a serious offense in California. Our state has some of the toughest laws in the country concerning DUI, and prosecutors are zealous in cracking down on offenders. That’s why you need a top attorney to aggressively represent you against such charges.

With Werksman Jackson & Quinn LLP, you aren’t hiring one lawyer - you are hiring an entire team. We believe everyone deserves representation, and we’ll do everything we can to protect your career and reputation from harm. Contact us today at (213) 688-0460 to learn more.

Back to Top

What Constitutes a DUI in California?

Driving under the influence (DUI) takes place when a person operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. This is measured, at least when it comes to alcohol, by a driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC).

In general, anyone 21 years or older is considered intoxicated with a BAC of .08% or higher. However, if you are operating a commercial vehicle, legally drunk is .04% or higher, while a person under 21 is considered intoxicated with a BAC of .01% or higher. California’s DUI laws include medications, even legally prescribed ones or over-the-counter medications. It’s illegal to drive if you are impaired by any sort of medication or illegal narcotic.

The tests used for measuring a person’s BAC or level of intoxication are not always precise. In many instances, cases have been thrown out of court after it was discovered the police had not adequately inspected or properly administered a breathalyzer test. An experienced LA defense attorney can help ensure you do not become a victim of injustice due to an error in testing or a failure on the part of the police to follow standard procedures.

Back to Top

What Are the Penalties for DUI in California?

It’s important to act swiftly in a DUI case because the penalties for a conviction are severe, even for first-time offenders. First-time convictions carry the following penalties:

  • Up to $3,600 in fines and court fees
  • Up to six months in jail
  • 30-day license suspension
  • 90-day restricted license that only allows travel to and from work
  • Three-month mandatory California-sanctioned alcohol treatment program costing $500
  • Auto insurance must now carry an SR-22 insurance certificate for three years
  • Three years of probation
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle

For a second offense within ten years of the first, the penalties go up:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $4,000 in fines and court fees
  • Up to two years of license suspension
  • 30-month California-sanctioned alcohol treatment program costing an additional $1,800
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device on all vehicles you own
  • Extended SR-22 insurance certificate requirement (plus significantly higher insurance rates)
  • Up to 10 years of probation

For a third offense within ten years, the penalties are:

  • Up to one year in jail (18 months for a fourth offense)
  • Up to $18,000 in fines
  • Up to three years of license suspension
  • 30-month California-sanctioned alcohol multi-offender program
  • Forfeiture of your vehicle indefinitely
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device on all vehicles you own
  • Extended SR-22 insurance certificate requirement (plus significantly higher insurance rates)
  • Up to 10 years of probation

In addition to the above penalties, there are also punishments for refusing to submit to a chemical test after being pulled over on suspicion of DUI. This can involve a license suspension of up to one year for a first-time offender.

Back to Top

Don’t Wait to Get Help

The sooner we can start analyzing your case, the better our chances of getting you a positive outcome. Our team of Los Angeles defense attorneys will go to work immediately to get your charges reduced or dropped altogether.

We have experience handling cases that range from simple misdemeanor drunk driving to DUI causing injury, felony DUI, vehicular manslaughter, and gross vehicular manslaughter. The legal team at Werksman Jackson & Quinn LLP is standing ready to help with your DUI. Call us today at (213) 688-0460 to schedule a free consultation.

Back to Top

Additional Information

Contact Werksman Jackson & Quinn LLP Today
Phone: (213) 688-0460
Fax: (213) 624-1942

Recent Case Results

  • Complete Dismissal of Molestation Charges
    Attorney Mark Werksman’s 29 year old client was falsely accused of molesting two neighborhood children and was subsequently charged with felony child molestation, with a significant prison sentence hanging over his head should he be convicted. Instead, at the preliminary hearing Werksman was able to convince the court to grant his client a complete dismissal of any charges.
  • Decision Set Aside
    Client, a college student in a faulty Title IX case, was awarded $130,000 in attorney fees.
  • Probation with No Jail Time for Drug Money Laundering Charge
    Wilmington man accused in New York federal court of laundering drug money through the sale of laptop computers. Mark was able to get the case transferred to federal court in Los Angeles, where he convinced the United States Attorney to reduce the charges. His client was sentenced to probation with no jail time on a misdemeanor conviction.
+ More Case Results