Los Angeles Selling Cannabis Without a License Defense Attorneys
California Cannabis Licenses
A California cannabis license is a state-issued permit that allows you to operate a cannabis business in California.
The California Department of Cannabis Control presently regulates marijuana licenses in California. The procedure to take while requesting a license is as follows:
- Obtain all necessary local permits.
- Assemble and deliver the necessary application materials and data to the state licensing board.
- Create an account using California's online licensing system.
- Submit a formal application for a license.
- Answer any inquiries the state licensing board may have.
- Once your license has been authorized, you must pay and display it prominently in your place of business (Keep in mind that you have up to 60 days before any license expires to renew it.)
The first thing you should do if you get caught selling cannabis without a license is reach out to Werksman Jackson & Quinn LLP. We have a team of experienced defense attorneys who are ready to help. Our legal team has experience in cases involving the sale of cannabis without a license, and we know how to get the best possible outcome for our clients.
Penalties for Possessing Cannabis or Possessing Cannabis With the Intent To Sell Without a License
Possession of more than 28.5 grams is a misdemeanor, which carries a penalty of up to $500 in fines and/or 6 months in jail.
Possession of more than one ounce of marijuana with the intent to distribute is a misdemeanor, which carries a $500 fine and a 6-month jail sentence. If the offender was under the age of 18, the offense is classified as a misdemeanor and is punishable by a fine of up to $250 for the first offense, and up to $500 for a subsequent offense or by up to 10 days in a detention facility. The California Health and Safety Code Section 11359 and the California Penal Code Section 1170 both go into great depth on this.
Financial transactions involving the sale or transport of any amount of marijuana by a person who does not have a state-issued permit are misdemeanors that carry a maximum jail sentence of six months and a maximum fine of $500. However, it is acceptable to give marijuana for free in amounts of up to one ounce.
The Legal Implications of Selling Cannabis With a Lapsed License
It's important to understand the difference between a current and lapsed license: a current license is valid and has not expired whereas a lapsed license is no longer valid because it has expired. A lapse can occur for many reasons but often happens when the person doesn't renew their license on time or at all.
It is important to understand that anyone suspected of illicit sale of cannabis may be able to use a lapsed cannabis license as a mitigating factor in their defense. However, it won't often be a complete defense. Even legal permits have only a certain reach.
Have Werksman Jackson & Quinn LLP on Your Side
Being charged with selling cannabis without a license is a serious offense and can have lifelong implications for anyone who is convicted. If you have been arrested for selling cannabis without a license, it is important to get in touch with a Los Angeles drug crime defense lawyer right away.
Werksman Jackson & Quinn LLP works hard to make sure that you are treated fairly by the police and the judicial system. We also help you understand your rights as an individual and help you get the best outcome possible for your case.
Call us today at (213) 688-0460.
Contact Werksman Jackson & Quinn LLP Today
Phone: (213) 688-0460
Fax: (213) 624-1942
Recent Case Results
- Complete Dismissal of Molestation Charges
Attorney Mark Werksman’s 29 year old client was falsely accused of molesting two neighborhood children and was subsequently charged with felony child molestation, with a significant prison sentence hanging over his head should he be convicted. Instead, at the preliminary hearing Werksman was able to convince the court to grant his client a complete dismissal of any charges.
- Decision Set Aside
Client, a college student in a faulty Title IX case, was awarded $130,000 in attorney fees.
- Probation with No Jail Time for Drug Money Laundering Charge
Wilmington man accused in New York federal court of laundering drug money through the sale of laptop computers. Mark was able to get the case transferred to federal court in Los Angeles, where he convinced the United States Attorney to reduce the charges. His client was sentenced to probation with no jail time on a misdemeanor conviction.